VIII

I follow. I obey.Johann-tetzel-1

I feel no regrets.

I look above and there is a saint.

(This one is supposed to make me prosper

and my piece of land grow wheat

only to grant me a place to live

inside a king’s realm)

 

My sorrow. My day.

I devoted it to pray

for a beloved one that has passed away

 

Happiness is just a matter of placing compliance

above self-esteem.

I’ve gotten used to the annoyance

of putting myself aside.

My wishes are tamed screams my

own hands press not to come out. Mouth

I use it to agree rather than deny

unless I’m told so

 

The coin hits the bottom of the money chest

My beloved one’s soul is free now

That’s what they say

I can’t see

but they know better

 

I follow. I obey.

Now I must go

and give the king his share of food for the day

Maybe I won’t starve for the night

and one more day will come

for me to live as free

as my deceiving (but convenient) mind says I do

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on February 2, 2015.

6 Responses to “VIII”

  1. I like the way you’ve used your imagination and intuition to place yourself inside the mind of a medieval mourner. Bravo José Ruy!

    • Thank you, John! It’s always great to receive your comments. As a poet, you are someone I really look up to.

      • That’s extremely kind of you (especially as I am writing in my own first language!).

      • I totally mean it. You deal with structures much better than I do. I remember reading a sestina you wrote and being mesmerized by it. I don’t have the link for it anymore. If it’s not asking much, could you leave me the link again so I can appreciate it one more time?

      • Well thanks! That sestina was called ‘The Watch’. The easiest way to find it is to type “the watch” into the search box on my blog (I don’t seem to be able to copy the link here).
        You know how a sestina repeats and revolves? I remember thinking that was just right to express a mind that kept going round in circles.

      • It was just right indeed. I’ll type it and search it in your blog then, John. Thank you. I hope I can write a sestina one day.

Leave a Reply

 
