VII

The cold touchVI
You are as far as the horizon
and as close as the emptiness
in me

Among the sheets and blankets
that together neatly compose our bed
we are the loneliest things
upon it

We lay facing away from each other
eventually touching when our backs
shove each other’s aside
In your political world
I’m just a gift
I’m just an object
Your bamboo staff
I’m supposed to be by your side
at the dinners you are invited to
at the speaches you give
at the laws you approve
at the dissimulation
in front of your lovers’ looks

I never wanted to be a queen
for my wantings are as far as the horizon
but tragically as close as the emptiness
in me

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on April 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
