PEPPERED CHOCOLATE CAPPUCCINO

Don’t ever thank me for loving you

It’s something I would do for a living

and something I would do for free

 

It’s as simple as that.

As simple as daily breakfast.

As simple as cappuccino poured at your cup

with the exquisite smell,

hidden,

of chocolate and pepper.

 

It’s the necessary strength

to keep me focused and aware

during labour

 

It’s the necessary warmth

to keep me away from the cold

of Life’s breath

 

It’s the arousal of senses

to keep me reminded of pleasures

that come at night

 

Don’t ever thank me for loving you

Don’t ever thank me for making love to you

Please, just taste of the cup I offer you

See the great contentment I have

on paying it for you

Because, truly,

the one thanking for somebody’s company here,

as a new day begins,

(it’s as simple as that)

that person is me.

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

PS: This is a little break I took from the new book project. This poem will probably be released in the book of poetry about the universe I have prepared and that will shortly be released. Next poem is likely to be a contribution to the ongoing project.

~ by joseruypc on August 8, 2012.

4 Responses to “PEPPERED CHOCOLATE CAPPUCCINO”

  1. It’s good to see you posting something here again – and I like the way this poem is structured and moves towards its conclusion. Best of luck with your publishing projects.

    • Thank you for your visit, John. I’ve been working very hard and I haven’t been able to write much. I’m now a married man and a public school English teacher in Brazil – and I’m already desperate to find something else to work with. If investment on education is what is really necessary for the sustained development of a nation, Brazil is a billion years from being a developed country. When I get to publish the poetry book in English, I’d be very honored if I could send it to you through mail. Would it be ok to you?
      Hugs

  2. poetic words.

    well done.

  3. Congratulations Jose on becoming married – and also on the teaching post. This is an exciting time for you. And good luck with the book project – I’ll happily buy a copy when it is published; just let me know.

Leave a Reply

 
