III

A tender breeze caresses my faceCastleHolmes_heden_c1

I feel peace

and all the stimuli instinct makes flourish in me

are not enough to make me feel dizzy

when I look down this tower

 

At this time, people are asleep

I’m left here with my thoughts and destiny,

but I’m glad to know

this has been my own choice

My ultimate freedom is as close

as a step taken

deep into the dark

broken by dancing lights

here and there

 

I hear a whistle

It’s maybe a bird trying

to teach me something

but I’m tired of having to learn

useless things

 

Go away, bird!

Wait for me to conquer my freedom

Then you can come to me

I won’t complain

The sound of your flight disturbs me

and makes me think of quitting this enterprise,

but I’m not screaming to a bog

like you invite me to

 

I’m opening my arms

– don’t tell –

I’m diving into nowhere

– don’t tell –

I ask you, bird,

– don’t tell –

make me disappear

I don’t owe information

about my own acts

to the other frogs

– don’t tell –

– don’t tell –

– don’t…

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on September 2, 2011.

6 Responses to “III”

  1. Pretty heav stuff. Very interesting from a frogs perspective.

    My entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/blood-on-the-moon-2/

  2. just to be, in our world, interesting write!

    Happy gooseberry day!!!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/legerdemain/

  3. I love your line I am tired of learning useless things.

    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/04/haggle-baggily/#comment-427

  4. lovely…

    Thanks for sharing…

  5. honest and powerful….

  6. I like this… very much 🙂

Leave a comment