HUMANITY

Walls of bone and flesh Tree

Sealed shut into it

like one of Poe’s tales

 

Cement made of blood

Bricks made of skin

like an organic jail

 

Is there a way out?

From the outside comes a laugh,

quiet and evil,

tasting the despair in my scream

rejoicing as my strength fades

building the wall I’m now stuck into

 

I am the only one to see

the ruthless homicide being committed

against my life

 

Will I ever find a way out of humanity?

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on April 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “HUMANITY”

  1. Jose this is a compelling piece.
    Pamela

  2. I enjoyed reading this!
    It reminds me a touch of Sepultura’s song: Inhuman Nature.
    Cool theme (mine’s the same! ha ha)
    Peace to you,

    http://notjeffery1.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/acedia/
    http://notjeffery1.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/your-name-is-ira/
    http://notjeffery1.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/greed/
    (my posts for potluck)

  3. Jose, this is haunting and lovely. Your thoughts run deep and these words shine. “Will I ever find a way out of humanity?” A question we all ask ourselves, if we’re smart. Thanks.

    Paz, Amy Barlow Liberatore

  4. no way out at times,
    but keep trying.

Leave a Reply

 
