AT THE SPEED OF SOUND

clip_image001I’m only one more wave

travelling the vacuum

at 768 mph

in some parasite’s body

 

I bring a message

from a dark place far away from here

Would you like to hear it?

 

I am the messenger

of collapsing environments

of coming-to-existence galaxies

of fading planets

and of dying stars

 

If you come across my path

you’ll come to know all that I know

and if you say anything,

or produce any sound,

I’ll spread it to the rest of the universe

And I’ll keep going my way

 

Please, don’t be grieved about it

It’s my job

It’s what I was born to do

I was made to be cold,

I was made to be careless

 

I’m a curse, you say

I tell you, maybe…

but you have to admit it

without me the universe would be boring

 

I don’t care about consequences

I don’t care for who might get hurt

And even if you like me today,

You’ll hate me tomorrow

As a wave, I’m everywhere

and I’ll eventually return to you

 

Then, I’ll go away

to tell somebody else that…

 

I am the messenger

of collapsing environments

of coming-to-existence galaxies

of fading planets

and of dying stars

 

 

and you were my latest news

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on October 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “AT THE SPEED OF SOUND”

  1. free and worry nothing style,
    beautiful wave poem…

    smiles!

  2. A well done poem from an unusual source. I like it 🙂 Thanks for linking to Potluck.

  3. This is a verse I would put on my wall…Envious and in awe…Susan

  4. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/happy-birthday-wishes-to-talon/

    help visit Talon to wish her a happy birthday today,
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
