IT’S TIME

It’s time to fly higherAnjo%20Tortura

What should I do?

It’s time to fly higher

I don’t know what to do

 

What should I do

If the strains I once created

To give me support

Are now suffocating?

 

(Dirty walls and broken window

A ray of light is entering

It’s lying as a dying creature

lost in its sublime moment)

 

I’m choking to death

I can see nobody here

I locked the room from the inside

and threw the keys away

Now I must find my own way out

 

(‘An insect digs

digs with no alarm

holes on the ground

and no escaping trace’)

 

It’s time to fly higher

What should I do?

It’s time to fly higher

I don’t know what to do

 

(The cords are tighter

He wants to open his wings)

 

(‘What’s there to be done, exhausted,

in a blocked country

the embrace of night

roots and ore?’)

 

I must get rid of them

I must get rid of them all

And after the struggle

And the guttural sound

The cords are loose

I can see them fall

 

As I look at the mirror

(the sun is behind him)

There is the form of an angel

I open them wide

Yes,

Oh Glorious moment

I open them wide

 

(If Euclid was here

he would have noticed

The window’s too small

for the creature’s escaping flight)

 

(No flowers here, if that’s what you’re looking for)

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on July 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
