ESPÍRITO SANTO

This is my fateES--domingos-martins-pedra-

Perhaps it is better this way

I’ll have to leave thee, my State

But I know I’ll return someday

 

I know I’ll miss thee

And some other land will know

That shall I a different site see

The memory of it will go.

If I follow the course of your greatest river,

Even if it flowed onto strange ground,

The memory of thee would be greater

Than the most beautiful land to be found

 

by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

~ by joseruypc on June 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “ESPÍRITO SANTO”

  1. aptly said…

    your attitude is upbeat in this piece.
    brilliant work!

  2. Happy Tuesday,
    Thanks for sharing!
    support us by visiting a few poets around your entry.
    Cheers!

  3. Beautiful poem and photo. I would love to visit Brazil.

  4. So beautifully expressed is your love for your land… No other place can ever hold the same charm as the one where you grew up in, where life came to be known to you as “life”…
    Loved your poem, Jose..

    Thank you for linking this fine piece with poetry potluck.. we are very glad to have you here!

Leave a Reply

 
